Where it all started….in 2007

So I was going for a wedding reception today and I couldn’t decide which Kaftan to wear. It was an outdoor wedding and it was one of the hottest days all week and I wanted to slip into something comfortable. I looked through my wardrobe which has my many Kaftans (yes I have way too many!) and I saw one that brought back many memories. And then it hit me…This is where it all started Subhanallah!

I was going for a wedding/holiday to Kenya in the summer of 2007 and I was waiting for my “lovely” reception outfit I was getting tailored. 2 days before I was due to flight out, I went to pick it up and it was a complete disaster! It was so awful I cried and cried…I didn’t know what to do as I had planned to wear this dress to the reception! I decided to compose myself and drove to the closest shopping mall on my way home…And I browsed through all the shops for something traditional and hijabie. Unfortunately I couldn’t find anything until I went to this one store that had some unique Jalabiya’s and other Arabic dresses. And there is was, this unique looking black dress that had the most intricate designs and was so beautiful and modest because of how loose it was. It was pretty expensive and I thought to myself do I want to spend that much on the outfit. I decided to take the night to sleep on it and come back to purchase it the next day. And when I did, it was just the best decision I ever made. Nobody in my family or community and network of friends had seen anything like it, and all thought it was a new type of Abaya because it was black.

A year later I started to see more and more of these dresses that were called “Kaftans” and I just couldn’t see anything else that came close to being as gorgeous as they were.

And there you have it, 5 years later, we (Mohajababes) bring a hand picked special collection of these for you from Dubai every few months.

Gold Scarf: H&M
Headband: Accesorize
Black Scarf: Dubai Souk
Bangles: Forever 21
Ring: Forever 21

Inshallah I will be filming a tutorial on how to tie the same style hijab 🙂 Till then, Cheerios as Dina Toki would say! 🙂

Afra xxx

Leave a Reply

